You are here: Úvodní strana > European Union > International cooperation and cooperaton ... > Cooperation within the EU > Current presidency of the council of the EU

Current presidency of the council of the EU

Term PRESIDENCY means that one country is chairing the Council of the EU. The presidency of the Council rotates among the EU Member States every 6 months. The Presidency of the Council of the EU is considered as one of the most important tool for promoting interests of individual countries of the EU and to influence the activities and operations of the entire EU.
Member States work together closely, in groups of three, which are called “trios”. This system was introduced by the Lisbon Treaty in 2009. Each presidency country introduces
at the beginning of its functional period its programme to the Council of the EU and
to the European Parliament (EP). The presidency is responsible for driving forward the Council's work on EU legislation, ensuring the continuity of the EU agenda, orderly legislative processes and cooperation among Member States. The presidency has two main tasks: planning and chairing meetings in the Council and its preparatory bodies, and representing the Council in relations with the other EU institutions.
Council presidencies up to 2020
Malta:                         January-June 2017
Estonia:                      July-December 2017
Bulgaria:                     January-June 2018
Austria:                       July-December 2018
Romania:                    January-June 2019
Finland:                       July-December 2019
Croatia:                       January-June 2020
Germany:                   July-December 2020
Portugal:                     January-June 2021
Slovenia:                    July-December 2021
France:                       January-June 2022
Czech Republic:         July-December 2022
Sweden:                     January-June 2023
Spain:                         July-December 2023
Belgium:                     January-June 2024
Hungary:                    July-December 2024
Poland:                       January-June 2025
Denmark:                   July-December 2025
Cyprus:                      January-June 2026
Ireland:                       July-December 2026
Lithuania:                   January-June 2027
Greece:                      July-December 2027
Italy:                            January-June 2028
Latvia:                         July-December 2028

20. June 2017: On 1 July 2017 Estonia took over the Presidency of the Council of the EU instead of Great Britain, which resigned their Presidency after the Brexit referendum. Estonia constitutes the presidential "trio" together ...

2. January 2017: The priorities of the Maltese presidency are driven by the objective to restore trust in the EU, need for a dialogue and reflection on the EU's future as well as the pertinent issues relating to migration, security ...

15. February 2017: The priorities of the Slovak Presidency were driven by three interconnected principles of achieving tangible results, overcoming fragmentation and focusing on the citizen. During the 6 months, the Presidency was ...

15. February 2017: As EU Presidency holder, the Netherlands’ guiding principles were the Union that focused on essentials, the Union that focused on growth and jobs through innovation, and a Union that connects with civil society.

Subscribe to site updates

Subscription is not set